Skip to content

‘the canadian': views from aboard and around

October 10

Blue River, BC – our first opportunity to stretch our legs after 12 hours on the train.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend. I certainly did, spending time with family and taking a bit of downtime to do some things that had been on my list, from which my busy life was keeping me. I am thankful for my busy life, but it is that busy-ness that has kept me from posting more about something else I’m thankful for this year – the fantastic trip I took on VIA Rail Canada’s ‘The Canadian’ Vancouver to Toronto train journey. This post, although image intensive, is a summary of the hundreds of photos I took of the views and vistas I was treated to, both aboard and about the train.

The view out the back of train.

Jasper, AB

And although these images capture much of the experience, this is one trip that has to be experienced in person to be fully appreciated. Wondering how to afford such a trip? Believe me my frugal side would have found it difficult to take the plunge with a full price ticket at around $2,000 for a sleeper plus single cabin, one way. Nope, this frugal traveller watched VIA’s Express Deals page until this route came up on sale on the dates that worked. And a deal it was – at 75% off. Great value for cross-country transportation, accommodations, and gourmet meals for four nights!

Athabasca Hotel, Jasper, AB

Pyramid Falls

The view for dinner.

Sunset.

Prairies sunrise. Didn’t even have to get out of bed for this one.

Crab Eggs Benedict for brunch, with a side of a gorgeous view.

The Prairies.

Melville, SK

Chillin’.

Waiting for freight traffic to clear the way.

Potash mining.

Prairie tracks in Manitoba.

And there just happened to be fireworks for us at The Forks – Winnipeg, MB.

Early morning, northern Ontario.

The last sunrise – didn’t even have to get out of bed for this either.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10 11:49 am

    I love these photos! Esp. the one of the roof…

    I took the train from Seattle back to NY after heading out from Chicago to Seattle. It is the most wonderful experience. I think everyone should do it. You’re so savvy to have gotten it affordably.

    • Susan Forint permalink*
      October 10 12:00 pm

      Savvy is one word to describe my coup. Cheap is another. :)

      Oooh, there’s another train ride to add to my list – Chicago or NYC to Seattle. I’d also like to travel from Toronto to Halifax as well, to completely see the country from coast to coast by train, then head up to finally visit Newfoundland and Labrador.

  2. October 10 9:58 pm

    Wow Susan, these photos are fabulous – I love the early morning one…

Trackbacks

  1. ‘the canadian’: the train is in the details | saf affect

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,149 other followers

