Skip to content

a farewell to winter accessories

March 14

My home always feels a little less complete and certainly a lot less festive when the Christmas decorations come down in early January. This year I decided to alleviate a bit of that empty feeling by adorning my condo with a few winter accessories. Fortunately I decided to do this just as the Christmas decorations went on final deep discount. Just creating a few wintery-themed vignettes on my fireplace mantel and on my dining and coffee tables, added to some cozy nights cocooning at home this winter.

At HomeSense, I found a bag of large silver-painted pine cones for $5. I stripped some festive adornments from a few feathery tree decorations that were a deal at $1 a piece.  And the best find was a mercury glass bird figurine for $2 that I have since seen at other gift retailers for $21.  I picked up the clear glass ball on the right of the mantel (something I’ve wanted for a while – not quite sure why) at Take Me Home during a recent PATH (Toronto’s underground ‘city’) sidewalk sale for only $1. The taupe patterned cocktail napkins from President’s Choice are always affordable at $1.99 a pack. I added these pieces to others I already had – a pair of vintage Depression Glass candle sticks; a woven runner on the dining table also from HomeSense ($12 on clearance); the filigree metal candle holder from Indigo purchased at the end of last summer for $5; a square vase filled with chestnuts I gathered. Although these items will soon be packed away in exchange for a spring/Easter theme, they served to bring a bit of a fanciful reprieve from winter’s dull days.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

