Skip to content

gluten-free sour cream scones

May 29

Last weekend I spent most of my time getting over a spring cold, which came on the heals of my trip to Slovakia and after a brutal week of trying to get over the jet lag. Makes sense now why. When you’re sick you often crave specific things – this time I was craving scones.

And as I try to limit my wheat intake, I turned to a recipe in Bette Hagman’s book ‘Delicious Dining without Wheat – More from the Gluten-Free Gourmet’. I closely followed her recipe for English Tea Scones until it called for plain yogurt, as on this particular early Sunday morning there was no yogurt in my fridge. I did however have some sour cream, and I figured, why not. The result: some pretty fantastic, tender and chewy scones.

Gluten-Free Sour Cream Scones

1 cup white rice flour

½ cup tapioca flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp xanthan gum

2 tbsp white sugar

2 tbsp brown sugar

¼ cup (1/2 stick) butter or margarine

½ cup (approximately) sour cream

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, blend together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, and sugars.
  3. Add the butter and cut if with a pastry cutter or fork until the mixture resembles coarse meal.
  4. Stir in as much of the sour cream that you need for the dough to form a soft ball.
  5. Place the dough ball on a rice-floured board knead slightly until the dough holds its form well.
  6. Roll the dough to about ¾ inch thick. Cut into rounds with a 2 ½ inch diameter cookie cutter (I used a small juice glass as I don’t have a cutter that size), and place the rounds on a greased baking sheet.
  7. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes until lightly browned. Remove from oven and transfer to a wire cooling rack.

Makes 10 to 12 scones.


Leave a Reply

