Skip to content

weather tracking websites

July 11

I’m a bit of a weather geek.  I am intrigued and fascinated by extreme weather of all sorts – hot, cold, stormy, sunny. I think I may have missed my calling as a meteorologist, but I find interest in following the weather, whatever the weather may be.

This past week of hot, hazy, and humid weather in Southern Ontario (which seems to be ramping up again for this coming week) saw me referencing the standard go-to sites for forecast information including The Weather Network and Environment Canada. I prefer however Intellicast’s site for some great radar and temperature visuals, where users can see an overall view of  the United States and the majority of Canada, or click into a particular region to see what inclement weather may be headed their way.

Intellicast has recently launched an interactive radar that can be quite fun (for us weather geeks).

The heat in the city of Toronto last week likely triggered quite a massive blackout caused by a transformer explosion. And although not a weather tracking website, I’ve just discovered this Toronto Hydro site that tracks blackouts across the city that can occur due to weather issues. This site is handy if you have power at work and want to know if your power is out at home (like I used the site for last week) or if you are without power and have a mobile device that can help you keep up to date on the situation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

