Skip to content

a couscous alternative: millet salad

August 9

I seem to be stuck on a bit of a salad trend – as can be expected given the hot summer we in Toronto have been so fortunate to finally experience this year. A few weeks ago I was assigned the dinner meal at a cottage gathering and I felt the menu I’d planned would be nicely rounded by a couscous-esque salad. But as I try to limit my wheat intake, traditional couscous wasn’t an option. I had some millet on hand along with some fresh mint from my mom’s garden (good for more than just mojitos), so I searched for an easy salad that foot the bill and came across this recipe. Millet is a nutritious ancient grain that is low in fat and a source of vegetable protein and dietary fibre. It contains more B vitamins, copper and iron than whole-wheat grains and brown rice. Here’s my tweaked version…

millet salad

2 cups cooked millet (about 1/2 cup uncooked)

1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed

1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes in oil, drained and chopped

1/2 cup red radish, quartered and thinly sliced

4 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp  lemon juice

1 tbsp fresh mint, finely chopped

  1. Prepare millet, by simmering 1/2 cup of the uncooked grain with 1 1/2 cups of water in a medium sized sauce pan for about 30 minutes or until tender.  (If the grain is kept covered and not stirred while simmering, it will be fluffy and separate like rice.)
  2. Place the cooled millet and the rest of the ingredients in a medium-sized bowl and toss well to combine. Salt and pepper to taste.

Serves 4-6 as a side dish.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9 1:11 pm

    I love millet and quinoa.. I’m cooking millet tonight actually as a rice substitute. Has a great taste and texture doesn’t it?
    Great post here. Will try this… 🙂

  2. Lynn permalink
    August 10 9:00 am

    Great recipe..I’ll definately try it! BTW, the runner (?) under the bowl caught my eye..did you make it? I’ve been teaching knitting classes for a couple of years and am always looking for simple, effective patterns and this one fits the bill!

    • August 15 10:24 pm

      Alas I’ve never taken the creative plunge into knitting – this is a piece from the now defunct Caban.

  3. May 14 10:05 am

    This salad looks SO good – and I love your combo of sundried tomatoes and radish – unexpected, and I bet the intense flavor of the tomatoes plays so nicely against the crisp crunch of the radish. Always glad to find more millet recipes!

    • May 15 11:25 am

      Indeed, the combo of sundried tomatoes and radish is really unique, and tasty! Likewise, I was happy to have happened across your millet salad recipe…

Leave a Reply

