Skip to content

crunchy homemade granola

September 14

I’ve always found it a bit of a challenge to source wheat-free store-bought granola beyond the more pricey organic options.  I like to sprinkle just a bit on my cereal in the morning, and since I’m trying eat wheat-free when possible, I figured how hard could it be to make my own –  I quickly discovered it’s rather easy.  And making your own allows you to customize and experiment with different flavours to your own taste.

crunchy homemade granola

3 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup banana chips, broken into small pieces

1/4  cups dried coconut flakes or shredded coconut

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup canola oil

1/3 cup honey (tip: pour the honey in the same measure you used for the oil – it will come out like a charm)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup golden raisins

  1. Preheat oven to 300 F.
  2. Combine ingredients from oats to salt in a large bowl.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together oil, honey, and vanilla. Pour onto oat mixture and mix well with your hands, being sure to coat everything well.
  4. Spread on a no-stick baking sheet in an even layer and bake for 20-30 minutes or until golden, stirring a couple of times during baking. (I like clusters in my granola, so I only stir it a couple of times during baking to keep the chunks from breaking up too much.)
  5. Mix in the golden raisins after the granola has cooled a bit. Store in an airtight container.

Note: a variation of ingredients I like is flax seeds, slivered almonds, cinnamon, and dried black currants instead of the banana chips, coconut, and raisins. Just be sure to always add any dried fruit after the granola has baked and cooled.

Leave a Reply

