Skip to content

thrifty loyalty

October 3

On a recent lazy Sunday afternoon I was in the mood for a little thrifting without having to travel too far. I hopped on Google Maps, searched ‘thrift stores Toronto’, and found Double Take, the Young Street Mission’s thrift store located in downtown Toronto on Gerrard St just east of Parliament. I had never visited before despite driving by on more than one occasion, and despite it being in operation for 10 years.  It’s a fairly sizable store, well-organized and designed, with a good selection of home decor items. All these elements are enthusing enough, but I was quite impressed to discover they offer a shoppers’ loyalty program.  Despite having worked in the loyalty space as a marketing manager, I had not had the thought that a loyalty program could work in a thrift store environment.  The concept intrigues me as do the generous rewards of 10% back in points; after my first purchase of $24 I had already earned 24 points which translates to $2.40 towards a future purchase. Rewards can be accumulated and are tracked simply by offering your name, address, and phone number to the clerk – no new card to carry.

And what did I purchase for my $24? A somewhat primitive yet captivating original acrylic painting of a wind-swept autumnal lakeside scene for $20 and a couple of early ’70s nautical maps of the Kingston / Gananoque areas of eastern Ontario for $2 a piece that I may crop and mount for a bit of a unique piece of art in my guest bath.

Of additional note, an ‘opening soon’ sign on the adjacent space advertises a new associated retail concept named ‘Something Old, Something New’ that, upon peering through the window at the merchandise already set-up, appears to house Double Take’s finer items.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3 9:27 am

    I’ve passed this store countless times…without going in. Now I’m going to have to make a special trip. Thanks!

  2. October 3 9:34 pm

    I’ve never seen this store. Now I might have to make a visit!

  3. October 5 2:15 pm

    Might have to check this one out, sounds like a cool store!

  4. October 26 1:45 pm

    Hi saf,
    Double Take is a long-time favorite since they have the room for furniture, which you can’t say about all Goodwill locations. The Sally Ann around the corner on Parliament Street is also well worth a look and there’s a small indie thrift store on Gerrard west of Parliament, across from Eclectisaurus and Foxy Boutique; when in the nabe I hit them all. xoxo

  5. November 22 12:52 am

    I LOVE your buys they are perfect! Now I can’t wait to see photos of them up in the bathroom…the blue on the wall is perfect =)

    I’ve been to this thrift store a few times and always pick up something.

Trackbacks

  1. fall change-over « saf affect
  2. can’t get to the thrift store? this thrift store comes to you | saf affect
  3. where to donate your used stuff now that Toronto area Goodwill stores are bankrupt | saf affect

Leave a Reply

