Skip to content

holiday decorations all tied up

December 8

Last fall, on a shopping trip to Chicago, I spied a uniquely decorated Christmas wreath at Bloomingdale’s home store (in the beautiful Medinah Temple building) that inspired me for my latest holiday decor theme. I loved the simple yet elegant effect of tying silky ribbons to an evergreen wreath, and realized it would be easy to replicate for my home.

I like using unexpected colours in holiday decor. I’m not a red person. I don’t own a stitch of red clothing, I have nothing red in my decor. And it’s rare for me to ever use the traditional hues of red and green in my Christmas decorating. These bright pink, blue, and green ribbons appear festive yet forward. Tying all these short lengths of ribbon to the branches of this garland and wreath proved to be more time-consuming than I expected, but I love the result. I don’t put out a lot of decorations. I don’t even put up a tree given limited floor space in my condo, but the few festive details I add to my fireplace mantel, windows, and table elegantly indicate it’s Christmas.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8 10:37 pm

    Love the ribbons!

    • December 9 9:10 am

      Thanks, Connie. It’s fun how many different and unique ideas for decorations there are out there!

  2. December 10 12:41 pm

    I think it looks very festive, Susan, good job!! I agree with you that it isn’t necessary to decorate with traditional colours, the decor still says Christmas. I like the subtle touches you’ve added to your home. Happy Holidays!!

  3. December 14 4:51 pm

    Susan I love the colours you chose!

    Btw, your dining chairs are excellent!

Trackbacks

  1. pink, blue, & green…& gluten-free christmas « saf affect

Leave a Reply

