Skip to content

merry (retro animated) christmas

December 24

I was asked recently what my favourite Christmas movie is; I really don’t have a favourite Christmas movie but each year I LOVE to watch the retro animated and stop-motion TV specials. These low-tech productions hearken back to a simpler time and bring back fond memories of my childhood. Here are some scenes and songs from my favourites – enjoy! And feel free to sing along with me…

At this special time, I reflect on the important things in life, and how fortunate I am to have such supportive family and friends.  Although the holidays this year feel a little daunting with the recent passing of my father, I know his spirit lives on in our wonderful, loving memories.  So with warm thoughts of cherished family and friends, I wish everyone the greatest of joy and love today and always.

a charlie brown christmas – linus’ monologue (1965)

rudolph the red nosed reindeer – silver and gold (1964)

the year without a santa claus – snow miser | heat miser (1974)

rudolph the red nosed reindeer – the island of misfit toys (1964)

the little drummer boy (1968)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30 12:55 am

    Gasp! I hadn’t even remembered The Little Drummer Boy until I saw it here! I don’t remember anything about the story or the cartoon, but I recognized it as soon as I saw it. Watched the whole thing. Well all 5 minutes anyway. THANK YOU! I LOVED it. It made my night. 🙂 ~ karen

    • December 30 9:35 am

      Thanks for your note, Karen. I’m glad you like it…as much as I always have. I hadn’t seen it in a long time either, but it is still warm and fuzzy. Very heart warming indeed. Happy Holidays!

Trackbacks

  1. vintage & contemporary nativity scenes « saf affect

Leave a Reply

