Skip to content

kiss my cheese grits

February 27

Grits were often a part of my childhood Saturday morning breakfasts, and since I was a child I found it odd that grits are so hard to come by in Canadian grocery stores. I always have some in my larder, and I get my supply when visiting south of the border in the United States. I find it odd that grits are so readily available so close by in most every grocery store in Buffalo, NY yet not readily available here in Toronto. Yes, we have options like porridge, cream of wheat and Red River Cereal (a Canadian hot breakfast grain melange), but none is a substitute to home fries and hash browns as an accompaniment to eggs, like grits. Not to despair however, for if you aren’t popping down to the States any time soon, I’ve learned that Bob’s Red Mill Corn Grits Polenta may suffice as a substitute to my favourite Quaker Quick Grits.

I usually just cook grits up according the package instructions, finishing them with a bit of butter and salt, but I recently had a craving for cheese grits and developed this quick and easy stove-top version.

stove-top cheese grits

* 3 cups water

* 1 teaspoon instant onion bouillon powder (or your favourite flavour that you have on hand)

* 1/2 medium onion, finely chopped

* 1 clove garlic, minced fine

* 1 cup grits

* 1 tablespoons butter or 1 tablespoons margarine

* 1/4 cup half-and-half (I used 5% cream, I’m sure you could use milk as well)

* 1 cup shredded cheese (Cheddar, Havarti, Swiss – whatever firm cheese of your preference)

  1. In a medium sized pot, bring water, bouillon, onion, garlic, and butter to a boil.
  2. Whisk grits into the boiling mixture. Reduce heat to low and cook, covered, about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally until grits soften.
  3. Add half and half and cheese and stir until cheese melts. Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

