Skip to content

i’ve still got sand in my shoes

April 3

…to quote the Dido song.  I’m just back from a much-needed vacation in the sun. It had been almost eight months since I had a full week off of work, a full week unplugged from the day-to-day grind and all things social-media. I had contemplated writing some posts to automatically post while I was away, but then that isn’t truly a vacation now is it. So I’ll be slowly getting back to blogging as I slowly acclimatize to life in Toronto again.

I’m hoping the memory of this week away in the Bahamas in perfect hot and sunny tropical weather isn’t removed from my psyche as quickly as the washing machine is presently removing the scents of sea, sand, and sunscreen from my clothes. I do know however, that this week of regrouping and refocusing after riding an emotional roller-coaster in the months since Dad’s passing, will do wonders in helping me to maintain balance and peace for a long time to come.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3 10:05 am

    what an awesome photo. Sounds like you had a great trip.

  2. April 3 10:22 am

    Love the photo!!

    Sounds like a perfect break from too much stress.

    I recently took a week in Banff — even at -38 degrees — to chill out (not literally) and recharge. I came back to NY totally refreshed.

    Hope Toronto warms up soon!

    • April 3 10:41 am

      A change of scenery, no matter what the weather, refreshes indeed. Just checked out the forecast for Toronto – double digits today at 11C. Spring is here, thank goodness.

  3. michelle permalink
    April 3 2:08 pm

    Glad to hear that you treated yourself! I hope that you and your family are doing well. How is your mom?
    I love the picture of your manicured toes.
    michelle

    • April 3 4:54 pm

      Mom and the whole family is doing well, thanks for asking.

      Does my big floppy hat look familiar? 🙂

Leave a Reply

