Skip to content

thrifty find…blooming beauties

June 12

Last Saturday I spent the morning travelling from street sale to street sale, poking my head into thrift stores and the ReStore. While I did find the odd little piece to add to my decor, the most fabulous thrifty find was this original oil painting that I found at the Goodwill store on Overlea Blvd., up towards Toronto’s north east end. I’ve popped into this store on numerous occasions as it’s not too far off the Don Valley Parkway, but I’ve had no luck until this visit.

For a grand total of $8.08 I picked up this 1958, 24″ x 30″ painting of a gorgeous bouquet of my hands-down favourite flower, the Peony. My condo will soon be graced by a bountiful bouquet of real Peonies, cut from the decades-old beds of my parents’ garden for ’tis the Peony season, but I’m thrilled to now have a permanent, year-round presence of these blooming beauties in my home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12 9:03 am

    What a lovely find! I was recently visiting Toronto and scored a few great things at the St. Lawrence flea market.

  2. August 10 10:30 am

    It’s beautiful, Susan, what a great thrifting find! It’s so great to have pretty things to look at all year round 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. fall change-over « saf affect

Leave a Reply

