Skip to content

spring is here…at least in my decor

March 28

With spring struggling to make a strong-hold in Toronto, I’ve swapped the decorative winter accessories in my home for a breath of freshness. What do you do to infuse a little bit of long-awaited spring into your home? I’ve cobbled together some seemingly incongruent and slightly quirky pieces that actually work quite well together in scale, texture, colour, and interest.

spring mantel - saf affect

On my mantel and in front of my church sale antiqued mirror find, I’ve grouped some vintage cream-coloured pottery, along with a large wire floral frog (used in vases to hold flowers up-right in an arrangement), a wooden hat stand, a depression glass candle holder, and a glass ball (which has no other purpose other than simply being a glass ball), kept company by my new, *old* little pixie vase. The floral accents are artificial and actual – dollar store pussy willows and forsythia (which will make their way to my balcony planter soon) add height while real daffodil bulbs and moss fill out the footed bowl.

mantel details - saf affect

spring sprite - saf affect

A succession of three yellow feather wreaths ($2 each at a Muti Warehouse Sale – their spring 2013 sale starts April 8) are hung on the inside of my front door so that I can enjoy them for more than the moment I arrive home and cross the threshold.

spring door - saf affect

spring wreaths - saf affect

A simple Czechoslovakian crystal bowl bought at Value Village for $5.99 is paired with $5 faux eggs from Homesense.

bowl of eggs - saf affect

On my dining room table, a faux bird in a grapevine wreath ‘nest’ peaks out from a $3 glass cheese dome from a Sally Anne store, accompanied by real branches in a vintage milk glass vase picked up at a church rummage sale for a few dollars, adorned by dollar store egg ornaments.

dining table - saf affect

easter eggs - saf affect

spring bird - saf affect

As I look around the collection of accessories and oddities on display, I’m reminded of one of my favourite museums in London –  Sir John Soane’s house. Soane designed the house to live in, but also as a setting for his antiquities and his works of art, constantly adding to and rearranging his collections. A single home created from a grouping of architecturally interesting 18th and 19th century structures, it houses some fantastic collections of  important works of art and antiquities, architectural drawings,  historical volumes and architectural models as well as important examples of furniture and decorative arts. Well worth a visit, for like minded collectors and for those with an appreciation for interesting objects.

And for more mantel springtime decorating ideas, hop on over to talk.cil and my latest post.

Have a very Happy Easter weekend, everyone!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28 8:51 am

    So fun! This is such a sweet post.

    LOVE that museum. OMG. One of my favorites anywhere ever. So glad you also know and love it.

  2. April 12 10:41 am

    Everything looks so fresh and springy. (Now if we could only persuade Mother Nature to get rid of the snow outside!) I love your dining chairs! Vintage? A fabulous find?

  3. April 14 8:46 pm

    Gorgeous! Love the forsythia – I need to clip some and bring it inside (it just started blooming)!
    Kelly

    • April 14 8:51 pm

      Ah real forsythia are the best. I meant to grab some clippings from my mother’s garden on my last visit, to force into bloom. My dollar store fakes will have to do. 😦

Trackbacks

  1. forcing spring: fireplace mantel decor | saf affect

Leave a Reply

