Skip to content

vintage ice bucket or stylish compost pail?

June 6

Although my condo building has always had recycling facilities, it wasn’t until just a couple of years ago that we added green bin recycling – about which I was originally quite excited. However, despite my sustainable perspective, I am sad to admit I haven’t been using this program as much as I should be, due to the fact that as much as I love to cook, I wasn’t producing enough green waste to regularly fill the utilitarian compost bucket provided by the city. And with my design focus, this ugly bin was banished out of sight and out of handy use, under my sink.

green bin before - saf affect

The search was on for a more size and design appropriate solution. Given my bent for retro, my solution is this vintage aluminum ice bucket I picked up at a Salvation Army thrift store for $2. Made in Italy, likely from the 50s or 60s, it’s just the right small size to fit grocery store produce bags and definitely stylish enough to sit on my counter. Easily at hand, I can easily open the lid with the back of my hand (while deep in the muck of cooking) with the integrated carrying handle. Bellissimo!

green bin after - saf affect

green bin - saf affect

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie permalink
    June 6 9:23 am

    What a great idea! Perfect!

    • June 6 9:40 am

      It’s incredible how such a simple change in the kitchen can elevate the experience of cooking even more! 🙂

  2. Anonymous permalink
    October 11 12:02 pm

    This is the greatest thing ever. Who wants an ugly “bin” on a granite counter or any counter. Have gotten two for myself and they are the bomb. My daughters want me to look for one that will compliment their kitchen.

Trackbacks

  1. DIY Kitchen Compost Pails | Pioneering The Simple Life

Leave a Reply

