Skip to content

chair repaired & street sale this saturday

September 27

About a year ago I was wandering a Salvation Army store looking for thrifty finds (as I so often do), when I came across this mid-century modern teak chair, beautifully designed with simple lines. Not so beautiful, however, was the slapdash crude repair made to an unfortunate break in one of the legs. Even though the chair bore maker’s marks, I was just going to walk away, thinking a better fix was out of my scope. But for the $5 price tag I figured I could take it home to do a bit of research and investigate if the poor repair could be rectified.

teak chair before - saf affect

teak chair break - saf affect

I discovered the chair was designed by Inger Klingenberg Denmark in 1960 for France & Son. Originally the company was called France and Daverkosen, after Mr. France moved from the UK to Denmark and met his business partner, cabinet maker Mr. Daverkosen. The company became France & Son when Julian France joined his father in the business. The company was later sold to Poul Cadovious in 1964 and continued under the name CADO.

teak chair mark - saf affect

teak chair marks - saf affect

I also discovered the original yet worn fabric underneath the bright orange covering. And once uncovered, that’s how this sweet little chair sat in my home awaiting some decision or craftiness on my part to restore, or resort to re-donating it to a thrift store.

teak chair after - saf affect

And then my fellow thrifting friend, Annie, who also has a keen talent at restoring found treasures into a once again beautiful state offered her skills. After her husband Rob handily yet carefully wielded a Dremel tool to remove  the wooden ‘patches’ and make right the repair, Annie artfully wielded a paint brush in applying a faux finish over the repair that seamlessly matches the teak wood.

Now I hope it doesn’t take me another year to reupholster the seat with fabric that matches my mid-century modern dining chairs.

teak chair repair - saf affect

If you’re looking to do a little thrifting yourself this weekend before the season’s done, Annie and Rob and their neighbours are holding a street sale tomorrow, which is sure to have some fabulous finds.

rummage sale - saf

Humbercrest Point Street Sale

Date: Saturday September 28, 2013  (rain date – Sunday the 29th)

Time: 8:00am to 1:00pm

A small street with five houses, the residents of Humbercrest Point are lining the road with tables, with something for everyone….. books, toys, athletic/sports equipment, lots of vintage Pyrex, many mid-century kitchen and home items, Blue Mountain Pottery, 50/60s salt and pepper pots, unopened model plane kits, furniture, and more.

MAP – At the crossroads of Humbercrest Blvd and St. Marks Road, Toronto (nearest intersection is  Jane St and Dundas St W)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie permalink
    September 27 7:04 am

    Thanks for promoting the sale Susan… it promises to be a lovely sunny day and we have LOADS of stuff!

  2. Lisa Mackay permalink
    September 29 10:17 pm

    Wow, I love the chair Susan, and completely by chance I ended up at the street sale and bought a goose-neck lamp from the couple at the end. 🙂 The funny part is that I was out for my run when I followed the signs, and then had to run straight home to get some money and the car. My husband thinks I’m nuts. Don’t forget to stop by next time you’re in the hood!

  3. Greg permalink
    February 15 6:08 pm

    Need this chair!

Leave a Reply

