Skip to content

forcing spring: fireplace mantel decor

March 20

Happy first day of spring! Today is a day that most Canadians have been longing for after a particularly harsh and brutally cold winter. Alas, outside isn’t looking very spring-like, so in honour of the fledgling season I’ve once again switched up my fireplace mantel decor, to force a bit of spring inside.

spring mantel - saf affect

I realize I tend to feature my fireplace mantel decor on a more than seasonal basis, but I find living in a small space with limited display space, my thrifty and vintage treasures need to rotate to enjoy them all. And this is a spot in one’s decor where it is easy to seasonally change-up the display.

spring wreaths - saf affect

These yellow feather wreaths (looped together with some blue grosgrain ribbon and hung in place with a removable adhesive hook),  graced my front door last year, but add an asymmetrical element of height to the setting. As does the vintage, church rummage sale find, rectangular mirror.

spring mantel accessories - saf affect

Speaking of height, I added some vintage books with covers that work with the colour scheme of the display. As does the 1930s photo of Toronto’s Old Mill Bridge over the Humber River (taken from a spot down the road from where I grew up but bought in an antique shop in Port Hope, ON) and my grandmother’s Federal Glass Co., colonial pattern, carnival depression  glass vase.

spring blooms - saf affect

And this woodland vintage sprite looks at home alongside some spring bulbs planted in a vintage earthenware footed bowl (both more church rummage sale finds).

Leave a Reply

