Skip to content

the week that will be: design & wine

January 20

After a much needed rejuvenating vacation south, I’m back in the swing of things with a week filled with design and wine.

Wednesday evening I’m returning to my design alma mater, Ryerson University School of Interior Design, to participate in a round-table format career evening for current interior design students. I’m excited to be on a panel with others, like myself, who will be chatting about alternative career paths for those with a degree in interior design. At the time I graduated I didn’t think or really know of possibilities beyond being an interior designer, but I am thrilled that my dynamic career now includes design marketing, communications and social media consulting.

ryerson career night 2015 - saf affect

Kicking off with the opening party Thursday evening, the Interior Design Show returns in Toronto for the 2015 edition. On until Sunday, IDS15, as in every year, helps to shape the residential design industry for the year to come. The 17th edition of Canada’s design fair celebrates leading brands, innovative speakers and rising local talents, including  spotlights on Canadian-made products and small-batch designers.

Click here to read up on my posts from previous years’ show…

Toronto IDS15 Interior Design Show - saf affect

Saturday I’m heading down to Niagara Falls, ON to take in this world wonder and to sample a bit of ice wine at the last weekend of this year’s Niagara Icewine Festival.

Niagara Falls Icewine Festival 2015

I’ll also be sure to stop by a few of my favourite wineries en route, in the Beamsville Bench area and Niagara-on-the-Lake, including saying hello at Rancourt Winery, a lovely little place (managed by a good friend) that turns out some fantastic and affordable wines crafted by a young and talented wine maker.

Rancour Winery Niagara on the Lake ON

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

