Skip to content

don’t throw that out! delectables from compostables

March 24

Just the other day as I was peeling an orange rind into my green bin, I thought to myself that in the ‘olden days’ this peel would not have been discarded but rather candied for a future treat or turned into marmalade or such.

While I don’t leverage rind into a new food-stuffs, I do try to use most food to its most. For instance, I now have three litres of duck stock in my freezer having made it from the carcass of a duck my boyfriend roasted for dinner one evening, that I just couldn’t throw away. Must make risotto soon.

Hawthorne Green Living Show Preview - saf affect

So I was excited to try a few delectables from compostables a number of chefs prepared at a Green Living Show kick-off event the other night at Hawthorne Food and Drink. These tasty morsels included standard and more unusual throw-aways such as chicken skin, kale stems and tongue!

You too can enjoy these delights and more, along with other local food and drink at the Green Living Show this coming weekend (March 27 to 29, 2015.) Themed as The Mindful Plate: Delicious ways to shrink your foodprint, Ontario chefs will inspire attendees to cook delicious meals using local misshaped vegetables and ingredients that are commonly overlooked, offering tips on how to get creative with leftovers and have a greener kitchen.

Hawthorne Chicken Chicharron Crisps - saf affect

Chicken Chicharron Crisps with Whole Chicken and Carrot Kimchi

Hawthorne Food and Drink

Root Veggie Pakaora Wild Organic Oat Smoothie

Wild Organic Berry Oat Smoothie with Wild Flower Honey Yogurt and Hemp Heart Sunflower Seed Crumble

Root Vegetable Pakora Skillet Cakes with Tart-Apple Reduction, Crisp Winter Slaw & Toasted Broken Caramelized Seeds

VEGHED Fresh Bar

Cured Cow Tongue Slider - saf affect

Cured Cow Tongue Sliders with Haitian Pikliz

Urban Acorn

Green Living Show wine and beer - saf affect

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 30 2:57 pm

    Interesting. I recently watched someone use a juicer and was amazed at the compostables that were produced that were going to be thrown away! I kept suggesting that a vegetable soup should be made from the perfectly good ‘garbage’. I agree….”don’t throw that out”!

Leave a Reply

