Skip to content

where to catch saf: 2016 in review

December 30

As 2016 draws to a close, it is only natural to look back and recap a year that was. And you might just be wondering where I was in 2016. While my blog has long been an outlet for sharing the good word of interior design, thrifting, architecture, food, drink, lifestyle, travel and more whenever a valuable thought or idea presents itself, of late I’ve been sharing more of my happenings on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

So here are some of my 2016 highlight happenings, thoughts and experiences that I shared on these other platforms.

> A fabulous trip to my beautiful ancestral homeland of Slovakia for a dear cousin’s wedding

slovakia-architecture-saf-affect

….with an enjoyable stop in Barcelona en route to take in the delicious architecture, gastronomy and wine.

barcelona-architecture-saf-affect

barcelona-market-saf-affect

> My boyfriend moving in and me learning to share a living space after almost a dozen years of having it all to myself.

And tolerating large speakers that accompany a better sound system…

boy-speakers-saf-affect

… along with throw cushions being thrown on the floor. His making of the bed on the left, mine on the right – I do appreciate when he tries. This side-by-side comparison of techniques was a top performer on social media, with most support weighing towards him! 🙂 All worth the trade of having him in my life.

throw-pillows-saf-affect

> Sailboat time with said boyfriend and good friends, taking advantage of one of the best Toronto summers in recent memory and a productive work environment on The National Yacht Club patio.

nyc-saf-affect

> The discovery of the art and joy of making tonic syrup from scratch, thanks to this time-consuming but oh-so-worth-it recipe by Pinch & Swirl. I learned that gin and tonics are hugely popular in Spain – served in red wine glasses. While I didn’t indulge in one on my trip, I have since declared this the only type of glass from which to enjoy a G&T.

tonic-syrup-recipe-saf-affect

> Cheering on the Toronto Blue Jays to another ALDS victory from some amazingly close seats at The Dome, thanks to an amazing friend.

blue-jays-alds-win-saf-affect

> Continuing to have a tonne of fun in my marketing, communications and design consulting business, including answering customer colour and decor questions and doing live presentations and appearances for CIL paint

cil-aae-saf-affect

cottage-life-show-cil-saf-affect

…and doing TV media spots (that will continue into the new year) with Dulux Paints about a fabulous new product line called Dulux Effects finishes, that just have to be seen to be fully wowed-by.

rogers-tv-for-dulux-paints-saf-affect

Reading my year in review, I am supremely grateful for all that I have experienced and learned, and for all of the wonderful people in my life, near and far, those that play a large role and the supporting players as well.

What is on your 2016 round-up list?

Here’s to an amazing 2017 for one and all!

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    December 30 9:22 am

    Thanks for your year round-up! We missed you 🙂 Looking forward to reading your musings and design adventures in 2017.

Leave a Reply

