Skip to content

industrial glass cloches

October 29

I’ve had a recent fascination with the use of  cloches to encapsulate and feature interesting objects under glass. Being my frugal self I knew that if I kept an eye out I’d come across something in a thrift shop to get the look for less than regular retail or an antique option.

glass cloches - saf affect

And I did – I picked up these industrial hazardous location lighting glass globes at a Toronto Habitat for Humanity Restore.

glass cloches setting - saf affect

glass cloches filled - saf affect

For $5 for the larger and $3 for the smaller and filled with found items including birch bark, pine cones, and rocks and pebbles, and a sweet little bird from the dollar store, I think I knocked off the Restoration Hardware 1920s inspired alternative with a homey yet curious result.

glass cloches - restoration hardware

Placed on my coffee table, tying this setting of cloches and tealights together is another thrifty find – a vintage Cylinda Line tray. Designed by Arne Jacobson in the late 1960s, it is available in new production at Design Within Reach for $150, but I was lucky enough to find it at a church rummage sale for $10.

cylinda tray - saf affect

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29 9:02 am

    Nice score!

  2. December 1 8:26 pm

    im doing some glass pieces like this and would love to feature yours as well if this would be ok please let me know,
    lauren

  3. December 3 8:54 am

    Great idea – and so much cuter than RH!
    Kelly

Trackbacks

  1. Thrifted Light Fixture to Glass Cloche
  2. vintage inspired christmas decor | saf affect
  3. thrifty find: a water pitcher to add to my cylinda line collection | saf affect

Leave a comment