Skip to content

vintage inspired christmas decor

December 4

Life is what happens when you’re busy planning, but I really should have planned getting my Christmas decor out earlier than just the other day. And while I love the pink, blue, and green theme I’ve used for the past few years, when I finally got rolling I was ready for something vintage inspired this year.

christmas fireplace - saf affect

Digging through my small storage locker for my small collection of Christmas decorations,  I pulled out some retro pink, green, and silver glass ornaments I’ve had for years and added them to a dozen and a half more in the same colours I found a few weeks ago at a Salvation Army store for 49 cents each, and plopped them (gingerly of course) in a few glass vessels including my Habitat for Humanity ReStore glass cloches. The wintry scene is set with my trusty white feather boa, some clear twinkle lights, silvery branches bought at Muti Inc.’s warehouse sale for $3 and a ceramic vase and candle holder also from Muti for $2 a piece, a $3 mercury glass bird from HomeSense, and a wispy white pine tree picked up at a post-Christmas sale at Tidy’s Flowers a few years ago for a couple of dollars.

vintage holiday mantel - saf affect

christmas cloche - saf affect

vintage ornaments - saf affect

It’s surprising it took me this long to get motivated for I attended a mid-summer, Christmas in July Home Depot event where fellow bloggers and I previewed some pretty gorgeous, vintage-inspired Martha Stewart Living Holiday decor collections, with the eye-catching displays curated by interior stylist Janette Ewen.

MSL Arctic Holiday Home Depot - saf affect Janette ewen - saf affect MSL Arctic Holiday Penguin Home Depot - saf affect MSL Midnight Holiday Home Depot - saf affect

Of course I naturally gravitated towards the blue-hues, with blue being my favourite colour. But all four collections are beautifully coordinated and vintagely inspiring.

I also gravitated towards the spread of sweet treats and the artful lattes created by Bobbette & Belle. Mmmmm.

home depot cupcakes - saf affect

bobette & belle treats - saf affect

bobette & belle latte - saf affect

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4 8:13 am

    Your mantle looks great as usual. I am no where near there yet as the inspiration eludes me. Hopefully soon!!?? It was great attending the Christmas in July event with you.

    • December 4 8:16 am

      Oh so I wasn’t the only one lacking motivation this year! 🙂 Can you believe it’s December already? Looking at the photos from July it’s hard to believe we’re at year’s end already…

  2. December 6 1:48 am

    the mantle looks beautiful and i love the ornaments under glass!

  3. December 7 9:53 pm

    Lucky you to find cloches at Habitat – fun and festive!
    Kelly

Trackbacks

  1. festive decor: valentine’s bunting | saf affect

Leave a comment